21
Aug
09

University of Washington Football

Just before you begin to read this, I am not a huge UW fan and that does not mean that I am a WSU fan.  I would say that I do find myself cheering for the Purple and Gold a little more then the folks from Pullman.  I do however love football and I am very sad to see a couple of things happening in the Northwest.  College football has seemed to died and ran away.  Local high school athletes have been jumping across state lines instead of playing for local Universities.

I went to the UW saturday night practice not because I am a huge UW fan but to see how the coaches are doing changing the culture, attitude and identity of UW football.  (If Pullman was not so far away I would have visited a practice but I had more important things to do like getting married).

So lets start with Coach Sarkisian or should I say Coach SarkCoach Sark Twitter.  The new age of social networking and social media has not stopped at professionals, actors or even famous athletes even the coaches are getting in on it.  (I am pretty sure a GA is getting getting his school paid for to be Coach Sark’s twitter and social media marketer)

I like to twitter it up and one of my favorite people to follow is Coach Pete Carroll. Yes Pete Carroll from USC tweets it up. Currently Rich Rodriguez the head coach from University of Michigan has been pleading with Big Blue fans trying to get up there in followers with Pete Carroll who has about 36,000+ followers. Rodriguez has a lot of catching up to do as the coach from Ann Arbor, Michigan only has about 9,000+ followers.  I think Rich needs to get Michigan to a bowl game first and the followers will come.

Not to many people are thinking bowl game in Seattle.  The Dawgs got a long way to go.  After watching the practice the players played with high level of energy.  The tempo was amazing, the way the athletes went through drills and executed their drills.  The athletes ran around with a purpose and actually showed confidence in what they were being taught.  I found it hard to believe seeing confidence from players who did not win a game last year.  While at the practice The defense was the dominate force when we were there.  Coach Holt had his kids fired up and flying around.  The Offense looked a little out of sync.  I was really disappointed that coach Nick Holt does not have a twitter account because I could only imagine what he would say, that guy is intense!  Jake Locker is sure an impressive player to watch.  He would give a D Cordinator nightmares.

I really think this coaching staff and under the new direction of Coach Sark that the Huskies will be back in the mix in the next couple of years.  As for the Cougars I wish the same, but I do see the Dawgs getting there first.

0 Responses to “University of Washington Football”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 326,625 hits

